Table of Contents

Controlling Access and Privileges

Default Privileges

By default, users are granted the following:

Access Level

All adults/parents will be able to see other members of their family. Unless you change their access level, they won't be able to see information about other members.

 

Privileges

Adults and parents are able to view troop information that is not specific to a particular user. They are also able to upload photos.

 

What if I want to change it?

If you'd like to change their default privileges or access level, you can do so by visiting the privileges tab on their profile after creating them.

 

How to Get There

You can edit a user's access and privilieges from their profile. To get to a users profile, click People on the Navagation bar and then click on the user you'd like to edit. You can also get to their profile using the Manage badge.

Once you are on a user's profile, look for the section titled Privileges, as seen below:

 

Editing a user's access level and privileges is easy. Just click on the Edit button, fill out the following form, and click Save.

 

Access Levels Control Who a Member Can See

Access levels control WHO in the troop this user has access to. The following table describes each available access level.

User Access Table
Access Level Gives Them Access To...
None No one! Not even themself! This access level is generally reserved for users who never log in.
Self Just them. This is a common access level for scouts.
Household                    Every member of their household. This is a good access level for parents.
Patrol/Den Everyone in their patrol or den. This is a good access level for den leaders, patrol leaders, and adult leaders assigned to a patrol.
Unit Everyone in the troop or pack. This is a good access level for scoutmasters, cubmasters, advancement chairs, senior patrol leaders, etc.

Privileges Control What a Member Can Do

The second green box shows the privileges a user could be given. Check or uncheck privileges as appropriate and then click "Update User" when you are done.

Here are the privileges you can choose from:

 Privilege                                            Description

Manage Documents               Add, edit, or delete documents from the troop library

Manage Troop Members       Add, edit, or delete troop members

Edit Web Pages                       Create, edit, and delete web pages

Edit Achievement Records    Edit user achievement records

Manage Money Accounts      Add debits and credits to youth money accounts

Manage Events                Create, edit and delete events

Manage Equipment           Create, update, and delete unit equipment records

Manage Training               Create, update, and delete unit training records

Manage Troop Settings     Update/edit Troop Settings (domain name, account owner)

Manage Privileges            Add, edit, or delete user privileges

Upload Photos                 Add photos to existing photo albumn

Manage User Files           See file tab for all users within their access level.  Can add files to it.

View User Files               Can see all files withing your access level.

Use TurboNet features     BSA units can use this feature to upload advancements to BSA

Manage Fundraisers        Track and record fundraiser transactions

View all Money Accounts Allows user to SEE (only) all money accounts

View and Print Troop Roster     Allows a user to have access to the Troop Roster

Manage Sign-Up Sheets           Allows the user to Create/Edit/Delete Sign-Up Sheets

Manage Announcements          Allows the User to change the Announcement Banner

Manage Checklists                    Allows the user to Create, Edit, and Assign Checklists

Manage Library                         Allows user access to manage the Library